State Alliances

Working together to protect and promote the fitness industry.

IHRSA’s Advocacy team has a long history of working in all 50 states on behalf of club operators to support positive policies and put a stop to legislation that’s harmful to the industry.

IHRSA has been working diligently in all 50 states and Washington D.C. to open—and, in some cases, reopen clubs—and keep these businesses operating.

To lobby individual governors and local lawmakers more directly, many IHRSA members are forming coalitions of operators within their state. IHRSA is committed to advancing physical activity and protecting and promoting the industry across the U.S. and is actively collaborating with these state alliances.

These state alliances have been instrumental and are beneficial to the industry as we work through closures and reopening. State alliances will become even more important as business returns and states begin imposing regulations and taxes on our already hurting clubs.

State Toolkit Introduction 9 14 20

How to Run a Fitness Industry Alliance in Your State [TOOLKIT]

COVID-19 caught the fitness industry by surprise, and this toolkit is one resource necessary to make sure that it will never happen again.

GET THE TOOLKIT

Creating & Operating an Alliance

As laws emerge post-COVID that could fundamentally alter the fitness industry's future, state alliances will be vital to protecting the greater fitness community and your club. It's not a matter of if—but when—states will begin imposing regulations and taxes on already hurting clubs. These resources will help you operate and manage your state fitness alliance. View additional IHRSA content.

Alliance Playbook Cover

State Fitness Alliance Playbook for Health, Wellness, and Fitness Leaders

Now more than ever, the fitness industry must unite. With state and local governments creating legislation that could fundamentally alter the future of the industry, state fitness alliances have an important role in advocating for and supporting the greater fitness community.

GET THE PLAYBOOK

Best Practices & Resources to Keep Clubs Open

As State Alliances have formed, they have graciously shared samples of operating documents such as by-laws, pledges, mission statements, and logos.

Many have also reached out to their governors and state officials to make the case of why physical activity is crucial, that clubs are safe, and why clubs should remain open. The community of State Alliances is working together with IHRSA to help new and existing alliances build on existing resources and share the message that exercise is vital and make the case that clubs should stay open.

State Alliances Nov 10 Map column nov

Arizona Fitness Alliance

E: ssullivan@eosfitness.com
T: 858-525-2575
Key Contact(s): Shilpi Sullivan

California Fitness Alliance

W: californiafitnessalliance.com
E: francesca.schuler@inshape.com, rkarr@calfamfit.com
Key Contact(s): Francesca Schuler, Randy Karr

Colorado Fitness Coalition

W: coloradofitnesscoalition.org
E: info@coloradofitnesscoalition.org
T: 303-770-2582, ext. 309
Key Contact(s): Paula Neubert

DC Fitness Alliance

W: dcfitnessalliance.com
E: contact@dcfitnessalliance.com
Key Contact(s): David von Storch, Aaron Moore

Illinois Fitness Alliance

W: illinoisfitnessalliance.com
E: steven.schwartz@midtown.com
T: 773-644-2233
Key Contact: Steven Schwartz

Maine Fitness Coalition

E: scott@sacofitness.com
T: 207-229-6014
Key Contact: Scott Gillespie

Maryland Coalition Of Health and Wellness Centers

E: keith@thearenaclub.com, mmiller@merrittclubs.com
T: 410-459-2400
Key Contacts: Keith Rawlings, Mark Miller

Michigan Fitness Club Association

W: MFCAFIT.org
E: info@mifit.org
T: 248-938-4228
Key Contact: Ed Eickhoff

Nevada Fitness Alliance

E: ssullivan@eosfitness.com
T: 858-525-2575
Key Contact(s): Shilpi Sullivan

New Hampshire Health Fitness & Sports Alliance

E: mbenton@ehsc.com
T: Office 603-668-4753, Cell 603-661-3403
Key Contact(s): Michael Benton

New Jersey Fitness Alliance

E: kevinm@tacnj.com, Leslieb@fitnessandwellness.com
T: 732-292-4362
Key Contact(s): Kevin McHugh, Leslie Adelman Banks

New York State Fitness Alliance

W: nysfitnessalliance.org
E: nysfitnessalliance@gmail.com
Key Contact: Bill Lia

Oregon Health & Fitness Alliance

W: oregonhfa.org
E: jimz@staffordhills.com
T: 503-277-9906
Key Contact: Jim Zupancic

PA Fitness Alliance

W: PAFitnessAlliance.com
E: linda@newtownathletic.com
T: 267-229-1142
Key Contact: Linda Mitchell

Washington Fitness Alliance

W: washingtonfitnessalliance.com
E: contact@washingtonfitnessalliance.com
T: 509-630-7307
Key Contact: Blair McHaney