We monitor the laws and legislation that impact your business.
Please view the full text of Alabama's Health Club Consumer Protection Statute for more information.
Pre-opening Payment Restriction: No
Maximum Length of Contract: 2 years
Contract Cancellation Provisions:
- Cooling-off Period: 3 days
- Member Moves: Yes
- Club Relocation: Yes
- Member Disability/Death: Yes
Automatic Renewal: No apparent restrictions
State Mandated Contract Language: No
Registration (Are clubs required to register with the state's consumer protection agency?):
Pre-opening only. Can file a letter of credit in lieu of bond. The minimum bond amount is $50,000. Clubs already in operation are exempt.
Automated External Defibrillator (AED) Requirements
There is no law mandating AEDs in health clubs. Alabama has a Good Samaritan law that protects individuals from liability in AED use and non-use situations.
State Sales Tax Concerning Health Clubs
Alabama has a 4.0% sales, tax but it does not apply to health clubs. It is estimated that it would cost each club in Alabama approximately $23,000 per year if the state sales tax applied to health clubs (based on industry research).
Locker Room Privacy
Alabama’s public accommodations law does not include protections on the basis of gender identity.
State Legislative Alerts:
- July 9, 2019: Alabama Adjourns for 2019
- February 26, 2020: Alabama Considering Restricting Automatic Renewal Contracts
- March 1, 2021: Alabama to Consider Bill Regulating Automatic Renewal of Free Trials
- June 8, 2021: Alabama Legislature Adjourns for 2021
State Action Center:
State Legal Updates:
No legal updates at this time.