IHRSA Celebrates Clubs, Companies & Communities Working Together for a Healthier World 2011 Award Recipients Honored at IHRSA’s 30th Anniversary International Convention & Trade Show

The International Health, Racquet and Sportsclub Association (IHRSA) is pleased to announce the award honorees for IHRSA30, its 30th Anniversary Convention & Trade Show, taking place March 16-19 in San Francisco, California:

  • The President’s Award: Waldyr Soares - founder and president, Fitness Brasil, Sao Paulo, Brasil
  • Julie Main Emerging Woman Scholarship: Jane Clark - personal trainer and cancer exercise specialist, Western Athletic Clubs, San Francisco, California and cancer exercise counselor, UCSF
  • Associate Member of the Year: Motionsoft – a leading provider of member relationship products and services in the active lifestyle industry, Rockville, MD
  • Outstanding Community Service: Laury Hammel &  Myke Farricker – founders, Longfellow Clubs, Wayland, MA
  • Dale S. Dibble Distinguished Service Award: Zoe Veasey – Co-founder, Cedardale Health and Fitness, Haverhill, MA

“I am honored to recognize this year’s award recipients for their outstanding commitment, service and innovation to the health and fitness industry” said Joe Moore, IHRSA’s President and CEO. “Each of these honorees embodies the dedication it takes to truly make a difference in their communities. On behalf of IHRSA and the industry, I sincerely thank them for their service and commitment to this industry.”

The President's Award, to be presented on Wednesday, March 16, recognizes an individual whose contributions significantly impact their communities and the industry. Waldyr Soares, founder and president of Fitness Brasil, has been instrumental in contributing to the growth of the fitness market in Brasil, as his company organizes four major events in the country: IHRSA/Fitness Brasil Latin American Conference & Trade Show, Fitness Brasil International, Fitness Brasil North-Northeast, and Wellness Rio. Brasil currently represents the second largest market in terms of club growth, with 15,000 clubs. Additionally, under Soares’ leadership and in partnership with the City of São Paulo, the Fitness Brasil Institute has developed two health clubs to serve lower income populations.  Previous President’s Award recipients include David Cohan, John Gebhard, Ray O’Connor, Bruce Hendin, and Julie Main.

On Thursday, March 17, the Third Annual Julie Main Emerging Woman Scholarship will be awarded to an individual who exemplifies what Julie Main stood for - courage, perseverance, excellence, professionalism and contribution to the industry and community. Julie Main, who passed away on May 4, 2009 following a long and courageous battle with cancer, was the co-owner and president of the West Coast Athletic Clubs in California, founder of the Cancer WellFit Program and past president of the IHRSA Board of Directors. Jane Clark, personal trainer and cancer exercise specialist at Western Athletic Clubs in San Francisco and cancer exercise counselor at UCSF is awarded this scholarship for her dedication to improving the lives of cancer patients and survivors through exercise. The two previous scholarship winners include Jasmin Kirstein, owner of MySportlady, and Karen Jashinsky, founder and CEO of O2 Max Fitness.

Also on Thursday, the Associate Member of the Year Award will be presented to Motionsoft in recognition of their significant contribution to the advancement of the club industry, and in acknowledgment of their support of IHRSA activities and programs. Motionsoft, whose mission is to be the premier provider of member relationship products and services in the active lifestyle industry, has historically been a strong supporter of IHRSA, has demonstrated a continued commitment to the association and its members over the past year, participates in multiple charitable endeavors, and has been recognized for numerous awards. This annual award has been e Associate Member of the Year has been granted consistently since 1984 to 27 unique companies.

The award for Outstanding Community Service is awarded to an individual or group who has made a longstanding commitment to making a difference in, and beyond, his or her community. This award will be presented on Friday, March 18, to Laury Hammel and Myke Farricker, founders of The Longfellow Clubs in Wayland, Massachusetts. The Longfellow Clubs have an extensive record of service achievements in and around the clubs’ communities over the past 30 years, including a commitment to community organizations such as The Sportsmen’s Tennis Club and the Handi-Racket Tennis Program. Hammel is also the founder of The Sustainable Business Network of Greater Boston (SBN), Business for Social Responsibility (BSR), and the Business Alliance for Local Living Economies (BALLE).  Previous winners of this award include Patricia LausPresident and CEO of The Atlantic Clubs, and Dave Patchell (Patch) Evans, Founder and CEO of The GoodLife Clubs.

The Dale S. Dibble Distinguished Service Award will be awarded on Friday, March 18 to an individual within the Association who has excelled in their contributions to the industry and IHRSA. This year’s honoree Zoe Veasey is the owner of Cedardale Health and Fitness in Haverhill, Massachusetts. Veasey, along with Cedardale co-founders Dale Dibble, Cliff George, and her husband Ed, created an atmosphere that valued education, innovation and a tradition of sharing best practices that now spans 40 years. Veasey is one of the first women to serve on the IHRSA Board of Directors, and several members of Cedardale’s staff have served on the New England Health Racquet & Sports Club Association (NEHRSA) Board. A testament to the vision of its founders, Cedardale is one of the largest and most successful multipurpose health and recreational centers in New England today. Recent honorees of the Distinguished Service Award include Mike Motta, founder, president and CEO of Plus One Health Management Inc, Herb Lipsman, President and CEO of the Health Club Company, and Geoff Dyer of Lifestyle Family Fitness.

For more information about this year’s IHRSA award recipients, please visit or contact Pam O‘Donnell,, or 617-951-0055.

The International Health, Racquet & Sportsclub Association (IHRSA) is a not-for-profit trade association representing health and fitness facilities, gyms, spas, racquet and sports clubs, and suppliers worldwide. IHRSA and its members are dedicated to making the world healthier through regular exercise and fitness promotion. IHRSA and the health club industry will convene in San Francisco, California from March 16-19 for IHRSA's 30th Anniversary International Convention & Trade Show. Find an IHRSA club at

Reader Comments

There are no comments for this journal entry. To create a new comment, use the form below.
Member Account Required
You must have a member account on this website in order to post comments. Log in to your account to enable posting.